Skip to main content


Atheist Alliance of America News

Richard Dawkins Award Given to David Silverman

LOS ANGELES, May 31, 2017–Atheist Alliance of America and the Richard Dawkins Foundation of Science and Reason are pleased to announce David Silverman as the 2017 recipient of the Richard Dawkins Award.

Mr. Silverman has helped unite the atheist community and has tirelessly advocated for political and social justice causes for more than 20 years. He is President of American Atheists and was the creator and Executive Producer of the 2012 Reason Rally. He has appeared on dozens of major news programs including Hannity, Tucker Carlson, The O’Reilly Factor (spawning the famous “WTF meme-face”), The Real Story with Gretchen Carlson, FOX and Friends, NPR’s All Things Considered, and many more.

Previous award recipients are Christopher Hitchens, James Randi, Ann Druyan, Penn Jillett of Penn and Teller, Julia Sweeney, Daniel Dennett, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Bill Maher, Susan Jacoby, Eugenie Scott, Steven Pinker, Rebecca Goldstein, Jerry Coyne and Lawrence Krauss.

The award will be presented to David Silverman at Atheist Alliance of America’s convention in Atlanta, September 1-4, which will be held at Dragon*Con’s Skeptrack, where Atheist Alliance of America will be celebrating its 25th-year anniversary.

Silverman headshot
David Silverman

Atheist Alliance of America News

Aron Ra Resigns as President of Atheist Alliance of America to focuses on State Senate Run.

Aron Ra
Aron Ra