Skip to main content

Dr. Lawrence Krauss: Winner of the 2016 Richard Dawkins Award

Atheist Alliance of America and the Richard Dawkins Foundation of Science and Reason are pleased to announce Dr. Lawrence Krauss as the 2016 recipient of the Richard Dawkins Award.

Lawrence Krauss

Dr. Krauss was born in New York City, N.Y. but grew up in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. He received his undergraduate degrees in mathematics and physics with full class honors at Calelton University in Ottawa, Canada. He was awarded his PhD in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

“Dr. Krauss is not only a great theoretical physicist but he is also a passionate advocate of atheism and reason known throughout the world. Because of his remarkable ability to make a very complicated subject not so daunting, he engages many audiences easily and makes them want to learn more about the subject of physics and the laws surrounding the formation of our universe,” says Melissa Pugh, President of Atheist Alliance of America. She also says Krauss “is a light of reason in a world darkened by the excess of religion.”

The Richard Dawkins Award will be given this year by Mark W. Gura and Melissa Pugh to honor an outstanding atheist whose contributions raise public awareness of the nontheist life stance; who, through writings, media, the arts, film, and/or the stage, advocates increased scientific knowledge; who, through work or by example, teaches acceptance of the nontheist philosophy; and whose public postures mirrors the uncompromising nontheist life stance of Dr. Richard Dawkins. Previous recipients are James Randi, Ann Druyan, Penn and Teller, Julia Sweeney,  Daniel Dennett, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Bill Maher, Susan Jacoby, Christopher Hitchens, Eugenie Scott, Steven Pinker, Rebecca Goldstein and Jerry Coyne.

More details on the Reason Rally are available at .

Click on the names below to read more about past Richard Dawkins Award Recipients:
2003: James Randi
2003: James Randi
2004: Ann Druyan
2005: Penn & Teller
2006: Julia Sweeney
2007: Daniel Dennett
2008: Ayaan Hirsi Ali
2009: Bill Maher[3]
2010: Susan Jacoby[4]
2011: Christopher Hitchens[5]
2012: Eugenie Scott[6]
2013: Steven Pinker[7]
2014: Rebecca Goldstein[8]
2015: Jerry Coyne
2016: Lawrence Krauss

RDawardTweet IMG_3168
Melissa Pugh and Mark W. Gura Present the Richard Dawkins Award to Dr. Lawrence Krauss. Reason Rally 2016.

Please join our mailing list and receive a free copy of Secular Nation magazine as well as our updates.

Presentation of the Richard Dawkins Award to Steven Pinker


June 17, 2013 by
Posted by Atheist Alliance International:

Now I know this is a UK site, but I highly recommend this event over in the USA. I started going to atheist conventions is the USA back in 2009 (and I was present a the the magnificent Lawrence Krauss “Universe From Nothing” talk). I have made many good friendships with our fellow heathens “across the pond” who I remain in contact with to this day (and hope to see at this convention). It also reminds me of how important the work we are doing is. The problems that do occur in the US and other countries across the word solidify how marginalised and persecuted (yes I will use that word) some people are simply for not believing in the Sky Fairy.

It can also be the centrepiece of a great holiday!

So the Atheist Alliance of America present the “Shout Heard Around The World!” Convention in Boston over the US Labor Day weekend (30th August – 1st September 2013).

Highlights include:

Host Seth Andrews, (Host of the “Thinking Atheist Podacst”), the presentation of the Richard Dawkins Award to Steven Pinker, and keynote speaker Paula S. Aspell (senior executive producer of NOVA who commissioned the brillaint documentary on the Dover Trial) as keynote speaker.

I’m already booked up, hope to see you there!